Old Favourite

Sometimes the old fashioned stuff just works the best.

Just a simple granny crochet poncho, with a little bit of detail.

Kid's Granny Style Crochet Poncho

 

I created this little poncho number whilst I was running my Wool Monkey shop as I had a high demand for poncho patterns one winter.  I thought there was a need out there for a really simple, kids, crochet poncho.  I never expected it to be such a hit, but it has turned out to be one of my most popular patterns ever since.

I think on this occasion I owe a fair amount of credit to my youngest daughter.  She chose the colours that I used to make the poncho and she did a very good job of modelling the poncho for me once it was finished.  She looked super sweet and posed like a super star. Sometimes she is good like that.  Sometimes she is far from it!

Kid's Granny Style Crochet Poncho

She has become quite accustomed to modelling things that her Mummy has made now, although often she thinks she will get to keep them afterwards.  (This is not usually the case).  Sadly she’s getting bigger though and even though she is still, in my eyes at least, very cute, she is far from being a photogenic toddler anymore!   I could do with a replacement.  That most definitely does NOT mean I will be having anymore children however!

I think I have made this poncho several times over now in many different yarns and colours, for many different children.  It turns out that even boys quite like ponchos too.

It’s also quite an easy one to adjust the size too, just keep crocheting until it fits. It really is very simple.  I guess it is still true that simple things often work the best. It’s been a while since I made one now, maybe that’s what I shall do this weekend.  If you would like the pattern to make your own, it is still available on Etsy and hopefully will be for a long time to come.

https://www.etsy.com/uk/listing/460019352

 

The only problem patterns like this create for me, is what to create next to keep up with it?  Maybe I should ask my daughter what she thinks I should make…

Kid's Basic V Granny Crochet Poncho

Leave a comment